Old 10-02-2006, 03:28 AM   #1
htgguy
Member
 
htgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Default Help with Night/Twilight Shots

I made my first attempt at shooting in low light (twilight) this evening. I submitted one of the attempts but it was (correctly) rejected for poor image quality. Anyone have hints or helpful tips to making these shots come out well? Here is the one I have tried so far:

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=293754

I think I might have screwed it up in Paint Shop but am not sure what I did. The sky looks really bad to me. Thanks in advance for advice.

Jim
htgguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 03:51 AM   #2
becker
Louis Becker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 390
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by htgguy
I think I might have screwed it up in Paint Shop but am not sure what I did. The sky looks really bad to me. Thanks in advance for advice.
Jim,

You definately have the right idea as far as shooting with a slow shutter speed. Personally, the main thing I can see is that it looks like your pic has too much noise/grain. The sky could be better, but it's definately not the worst. That's also based on what time of night you took the photo.

Keep on experimenting with this type of work, it oughtta work eventually.

--Louis
Grand Forks
becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 05:18 AM   #3
John Fladung
JohnFladung.net
 
John Fladung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 785
Default

Jim,

I are you using the Digital Zoom feature on your camera? I believe the S2 should have a setting to turn this on or off. Personally, I would leave it off as that can only add extra blur to any shot.

As far as other advice I would suggest practice (not to sound cliche). I'm by no means a pro and when I go out for streak shots like that I mess the majority of them up and only get one or two to actually look acceptable.

Good luck!
John Fladung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 05:33 AM   #4
a231pacific
Senior Member
 
a231pacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 822
Default

It's way over compressed. Look at the poles and wires, you can see a halo around them. that's the first tip off. The second is all the blockiness that it produces in mono color areas, such as the sky. My guess is you saved it at a low jpeg quality level or you shot it at a low jpeg quality setting in your camera.

Michael Allen
a231pacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 05:08 PM   #5
Pat Lorenz
Senior Member
 
Pat Lorenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 326
Default

the color looks fine, but my eye went right to that truck beneath the train, i also dont care for the telephone wires and poles, it would work, but you need to find a cleaner area in my opinion, a shot like this needs to simple
Pat Lorenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 06:37 PM   #6
busyEMT
Senior Member
 
busyEMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 902
Default

If the quality was better, it would have been a great shot to crop shorter and bring the left border to the crossing gate.
__________________
Aaron Florin- Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Visit Twin Cities Railfan.com
Visit the Twin Cities Railfan forums.

Don't do anything you wouldn't want to explain to the paramedics!
busyEMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 02:23 AM   #7
htgguy
Member
 
htgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Default

Thanks for the advice, I will try to work it into my future attempts. I am also going to take another look at the original file and see if I can do something better with it. Maybe I saved it too many times or the jpeg quality was set wrong.
htgguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 03:00 AM   #8
a231pacific
Senior Member
 
a231pacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 822
Default

Quote:
Thanks for the advice, I will try to work it into my future attempts. I am also going to take another look at the original file and see if I can do something better with it. Maybe I saved it too many times or the jpeg quality was set wrong.
Good idea. Always save the original file! Always!

Every time you save a jpeg, the quality degrades and you get more artifacts. I've even had them appear after only two saves at the highest setting of 12, so you have to be careful. They are especially noticeable in the sky, where it's all one color.

Michael Allen
a231pacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 04:06 AM   #9
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Every time you save a jpeg, the quality degrades and you get more artifacts.
I think that's true only if you save, close your photo editor, re-open and repeat. I'm pretty sure if you save without closing the editior, you don't lose quality with each save...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 03:16 AM   #10
Niles
Member
 
Niles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 61
Default

Try using a lower ISO purhaps. Anything above 400 reduces image quality and adds noise.
Niles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.