Old 06-02-2007, 07:02 PM   #1
Warren
Senior Member
 
Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 287
Send a message via MSN to Warren
Angry Dust

Here is a lens I purchased recently and I am a bit surprised to find dust down inside on the glass. You can clearly see the three white specks along with some other crud off to the right. (Screeners here is the source of a few of my recent rejections for dust spots.) This lens wasn't cheap and I do my best to take care of it and it makes me wonder how it gets in there? My next question is how do I get it out, or should I say how much is it going to cost me to get it out?
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Click Here to view my videos at rail-videos.net
My webshots photos
Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 07:21 PM   #2
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Warranty?

I don't think the 17-55mm is "sealed" like some L-series lenses, so it's not impervious...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 01:20 AM   #3
Warren
Senior Member
 
Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 287
Send a message via MSN to Warren
Default

Well I did buy the extended warranty so I hope they cover this. We will find out.
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Click Here to view my videos at rail-videos.net
My webshots photos
Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 03:29 AM   #4
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default

I wouldn't worry about it. They don't even show up on images. (From my experience, anyways.)

Edit: I forgot to mention that the dust spots that show up on your images are almost always on the camera's image sensor.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account

Last edited by Frederick; 06-03-2007 at 05:28 AM.
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 05:29 AM   #5
Cyclonetrain
Senior Member
 
Cyclonetrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 359
Send a message via AIM to Cyclonetrain Send a message via Yahoo to Cyclonetrain
Default

You won't notice it. Its too close to be in any focus at all, and too far away to leave a shadow on your sensor (like sensor dust).
Cyclonetrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 06:34 AM   #6
SD70MACMAN
The man with the plan
 
SD70MACMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edmonds, Washington
Posts: 375
Send a message via AIM to SD70MACMAN
Default

That sucks hard core. I beat you there, sort of. My Canon PowerShot A620 suffered some damage when it was 3 days old. So I sent it into Canon to get fixed. They had to take apart the lens in order to repair it. I never noticed, but theres a small finger print or smudge in the lower right corner of the lens that blurs the lower left corner of every picture I have.
__________________
~Mike Bjork

UP's new slogan for Amtrak:
"We'll help you spread you wings and fly right into a siding!"

TRAINS TRAINS TRAINS!!! May the fun never end!
I'm a traitor! Im on JP.net! But all my plane shots involve trains!

BN FOREVER!
SD70MACMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 04:08 AM   #7
Carl Becker
Senior Member
 
Carl Becker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SD70MACMAN
That sucks hard core. I beat you there, sort of. My Canon PowerShot A620 suffered some damage when it was 3 days old. So I sent it into Canon to get fixed. They had to take apart the lens in order to repair it. I never noticed, but theres a small finger print or smudge in the lower right corner of the lens that blurs the lower left corner of every picture I have.
Mike--

Was the camera dropped or what exactly happened? Louis's A520 has some minor body damage (on the corners, especially) from being dropped on gravel but it doesn't affect the functionality of the camera. Sounds like yours might have been more severe.

On a different note, I have not run into too many RP members using the Canon A-series like me and Louis, so, would you happen to know the best way to clean the lenses? Maybe I just haven't looked hard enough in the book, but I have never found a recommended way.
Carl Becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 05:25 PM   #8
SamD
Senior Member
 
SamD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 254
Default

A dust blower and a microfiber cloath should be fine for just about any lens. But don't go crazy with the blower... to much air can damage the lens.
SamD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 07:21 PM   #9
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclonetrain
You won't notice it. Its too close to be in any focus at all, and too far away to leave a shadow on your sensor (like sensor dust).
Yes, agree. Everything I have ever read says a bit of dust inside the lens is simply irrelevant.

Congrats on the lens, I'm trying out one now myself. Have you used the IS yet when shooting trains? Does it interfere with moving trains? I have wondered how IS affects things if the train is not a major element of the image, like when one is doing a scenic that includes a train.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 11:38 PM   #10
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC
Yes, agree. Everything I have ever read says a bit of dust inside the lens is simply irrelevant.

Congrats on the lens, I'm trying out one now myself. Have you used the IS yet when shooting trains? Does it interfere with moving trains? I have wondered how IS affects things if the train is not a major element of the image, like when one is doing a scenic that includes a train.
It has always worked well for me...
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 12:38 AM   #11
Warren
Senior Member
 
Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 287
Send a message via MSN to Warren
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC
Yes, agree. Everything I have ever read says a bit of dust inside the lens is simply irrelevant.

Congrats on the lens, I'm trying out one now myself. Have you used the IS yet when shooting trains? Does it interfere with moving trains? I have wondered how IS affects things if the train is not a major element of the image, like when one is doing a scenic that includes a train.
Thanks and yes I just leave the IS on all the time. To answer your question these photos were taken with that lens.
Image © Warren
PhotoID: 189866
Photograph © Warren


Image © Warren
PhotoID: 189480
Photograph © Warren
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Click Here to view my videos at rail-videos.net
My webshots photos
Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 01:32 AM   #12
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warren
Thanks and yes I just leave the IS on all the time. To answer your question these photos were taken with that lens.
Thanks! I am hoping to get similar results - it is easy when going about with my son not to have a mono or tripod and if the train results are improved, that is a bonus. The primary reason to get the f/2.8 is for in-home flexibility in shooting (over my two fixed focals) and then the IS is an add-on (over the Tamron 17-50) to have for travel and such. If I can get the IS benefit with (some) moving trains that is gravy.

Have you tried a simple relatively frame-filling wedgie of a moving train with the IS on?
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 04:30 AM   #13
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC
Have you tried a simple relatively frame-filling wedgie of a moving train with the IS on?
The only things that will affect IS performance are longer focal lengths and slower shutter speeds.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 10:20 AM   #14
Switched out
Senior Member
 
Switched out's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 395
Default

IS is brilliant, don't leave home without it. I have two Len's that have IS and have found them everything they are cracked up to be.

The only down side to having a lens with IS is the cost but after getting past that hurdle I haven't looked back. The only thing you have to remember is to turn it off when you are going for a panning shot.
Switched out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 12:45 PM   #15
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warren
Image © Warren
PhotoID: 189866
Photograph © Warren
That's an awesome shot. I missed it the first time around. It looks very U.K.ish!


Joe
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 06:21 PM   #16
CG_F45
Senior Member
 
CG_F45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog
That's an awesome shot. I missed it the first time around. It looks very U.K.ish!


Joe
Ditto- If it weren't for the Ford 500 and Chevy Cobalt (?) on the street, and that BNSF power, I would say this is from another country!

Warren, needless to say, great shot! I too missed it when it came in, and now I am glad I saw it! It inspires me to head to downtown Chicago and shoot the trains mingling with the architecture!
__________________
Chris G

My photos at RailPictures.Net
CG_F45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 12:41 AM   #17
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Switched out
IS is brilliant, don't leave home without it. I have two Len's that have IS and have found them everything they are cracked up to be.

The only down side to having a lens with IS is the cost but after getting past that hurdle I haven't looked back. The only thing you have to remember is to turn it off when you are going for a panning shot.
I agree. The only time the IS isn't on is when I have the lens mounted to my tripod. Other than that, it's on all the time and I don't even think about turning it off.

Also, on the newer Canon lenses (and I'm sure others as well), there is a mode for IS while doing panning shots.

My 100-400 lens has a little dust inside the lens...no idea how it got there. Regardless, it'll never show up in any images. Heck, I can even shoot through a chain link fence and the lens see right "through" the links, so I doubt a little dust is ever going to matter.

Last edited by JimThias; 06-15-2007 at 12:44 AM.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.