Old 06-13-2012, 01:52 AM   #1
Chris Z
Senior Member
 
Chris Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Libertyville, Il
Posts: 937
Send a message via Skype™ to Chris Z
Default Foreground clutter on a bridge

What is the best placement for a locomotive or train on a bridge. I thought the cab needed to be visible through one of the openings. I was looking for suggestions so I can do a better job the next time.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...63&key=8546507

Chris Z
Chris Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 02:08 AM   #2
MagnumForce
Senior Member
 
MagnumForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 602
Default

One of the greatest RP questions ever, they are incredibly inconsistent about it.
__________________
-Brent Kneebush
Defiance, Ohio
MagnumForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 02:31 AM   #3
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Z View Post
What is the best placement for a locomotive or train on a bridge. I thought the cab needed to be visible through one of the openings. I was looking for suggestions so I can do a better job the next time.
Chris Z
Not the cab, I think, but instead the nose.

Both preferably - otherwise I'd assume very hit or miss depending on the
individual screener's tastes.

/Mitch
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 02:47 AM   #4
magicman_841
Senior Member
 
magicman_841's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,024
Default

Here's one of mine that got in.

Image ©
PhotoID:
Photograph ©


I'll echo Brent's comments, though. YMMV.
__________________
Mathieu Tremblay
Choo photos
magicman_841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 12:58 PM   #5
Hatchetman
Part-Time Railfan
 
Hatchetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,381
Default

IMO, In a situation like that look at the bridge as the subject. in that case you have cropping/composition issues.
__________________
Now with Flickr!
Hatchetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 04:51 PM   #6
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatchetman View Post
IMO, In a situation like that look at the bridge as the subject. in that case you have cropping/composition issues.
That was the thing that jumped out at me, too. A lot of sky and not much water under the bridge. The shadow from the bridge on the train is also a bit distracting to me.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 05:33 PM   #7
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

It doesn't help that the bridge appears to be in the process of being repainted, and the fresh, bright colors are at the opposite end from the nose of the train. The eye goes to the wrong place.

I would suggest that for next time you at least consider a tighter crop where you drop the colorful spans on the left. That will also allow you to crop out some of the plain sky and water. In this case that also draws more attention to the nose being ill-positioned.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 12:53 AM   #8
Chris Z
Senior Member
 
Chris Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Libertyville, Il
Posts: 937
Send a message via Skype™ to Chris Z
Default

I do have a shot of the bridge with the nose placed in between, but not enough room to do the entire nose and cab. I have a shot of the engines between all the bridges. Also I have plenty of room to include more water, less sky and more land, or any combination or crop.

Here's another sample. Unfortunately, I think there's a platform on top of the second section for workman that's causing the shadows on the engines. Maybe I can photoshop out the shadows? Or at least give it a try, I just don't like the amount of time it takes to do that.



I will probably find a new bridge somewhere else. I would just like to find out what to look for the next time I do.

Chris Z
Chris Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 01:10 AM   #9
jac_murphy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 378
Default

This one looks much better. I say go for it. There's not enough room between the diagonal and vertical members to fit the entire cab and nose, and in my opinion, the nose is more important. Though I wouldn't rule out something involving cropping... cropping up.

-Jacques
jac_murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.