Old 11-06-2010, 01:01 AM   #1
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question Fixable or another personal collection?

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...d=872934&key=0

Any opinions, etc. ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:32 AM   #2
ssw9662
Senior Member
 
ssw9662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 839
Default

You need some more space on the left side. If the original is wider, leave some room on the left. If not, maybe you can use a shot taken a little earlier if you have one. On another note, the image is unlevel and has bad image quality (probably the result of a bad resize).
__________________
Austin
Canon EOS 7D
Canon 70-200mm f/4 L
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Canon 50mm f/1.8
My Railpictures.net Photos
flickr
ssw9662 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:37 AM   #3
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssw9662 View Post
You need some more space on the left side. If the original is wider, leave some room on the left. If not, maybe you can use a shot taken a little earlier if you have one. On another note, the image is unlevel and has bad image quality (probably the result of a bad resize).
How do I fix the BIQ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:45 AM   #4
ssw9662
Senior Member
 
ssw9662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 839
Default

What program are you using to resize your photos? You may be able to change how the image is resized (should be called "resample method" or something like that). Right now the photo looks very "blocky" and I'm surprised that it didn't get rejected for image quality.
__________________
Austin
Canon EOS 7D
Canon 70-200mm f/4 L
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Canon 50mm f/1.8
My Railpictures.net Photos
flickr
ssw9662 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:11 AM   #5
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssw9662 View Post
What program are you using to resize your photos? You may be able to change how the image is resized (should be called "resample method" or something like that). Right now the photo looks very "blocky" and I'm surprised that it didn't get rejected for image quality.
IRFanview for editing, and Picasa3 for cropping.

I don't have the money for a decent editor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:29 AM   #6
AntD.
Senior Member
 
AntD.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHapsias View Post
IRFanview for editing, and Picasa3 for cropping.

I don't have the money for a decent editor.

I use the SAME exact thing except I only use IRFanview for leveling and resizing, that's it... I'm still debating on purchasing PS, but I still have my personal opinions about it...

As for you photo....To start off, it's cloudy...I'm not the one that as anal about cloudy shots, but this one doesn't really appeal to me. Nice power, but the conditions just weren't right for this shot IMO.
AntD. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:18 AM   #7
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

More on the left, also the foreground is muddled, I would allow more space down there.

Or instead of more on the left, shoot a bit earlier so the train isn't all the way over.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:21 AM   #8
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntD. View Post
I use the SAME exact thing except I only use IRFanview for leveling and resizing, that's it... I'm still debating on purchasing PS, but I still have my personal opinions about it...

As for you photo....To start off, it's cloudy...I'm not the one that as anal about cloudy shots, but this one doesn't really appeal to me. Nice power, but the conditions just weren't right for this shot IMO.
How do you level in IRFanview?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:22 AM   #9
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
More on the left, also the foreground is muddled, I would allow more space down there.

Or instead of more on the left, shoot a bit earlier so the train isn't all the way over.
Ok, I will do that now. I took about I think (5) photos of the train coming across the trestle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 05:08 AM   #10
AntD.
Senior Member
 
AntD.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHapsias View Post
How do you level in IRFanview?
It's called 'Custom Fine Rotation' on IRFanview...Under the Image tab
AntD. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:45 PM   #11
Joe the Photog
A dude with a camera
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,922
Default

I got Photoshop Elements with my Canon camera. Canon gave their users some real processing tools.
__________________
Joseph C. Hinson Photography
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 02:20 PM   #12
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog View Post
I got Photoshop Elements with my Canon camera. Canon gave their users some real processing tools.
Sounds like you got a special bundle from your retailer, I am pretty sure Canon does not include PSE normally. They have their own software, DPP, which they include.

I haven't used DPP but the Zoombrowser organizer which is also included is what I use for organizing shots; I never took to the organizer included with PSE.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 02:58 PM   #13
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

You obviously dont know this, but the lead locomotive is an SD60, not an SD50. One of only 10 CSX bought in 1988. That alone makes this photo super rare and it should be accepted just based on that fact. Appeal and demand that they accept it based on this fact.

If that dont work, you need some space on the left, otherwise, I really dont see much wrong with it. Lighting could be better, but hey... it is what it is.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:07 PM   #14
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
You obviously dont know this, but the lead locomotive is an SD60, not an SD50. One of only 10 CSX bought in 1988. That alone makes this photo super rare and it should be accepted just based on that fact. Appeal and demand that they accept it based on this fact.
Well, that brings up the old question of what kind of shots RP should accept, and should they lower the standard for particular kinds of shots or rather shots with particular content. There are already 8 shots of CSXT 8708 on the database, two more of CSX 8708, including one from October. I don't know how may CSX SD60 shots there are in total. Does the "super rare" nature of this shot justify acceptance?

I think in this situation it is a moot point because I suspect a properly cropped version of a shot taken a few seconds before this one will end up getting on.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:40 PM   #15
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
Well, that brings up the old question of what kind of shots RP should accept, and should they lower the standard for particular kinds of shots or rather shots with particular content. There are already 8 shots of CSXT 8708 on the database, two more of CSX 8708, including one from October. I don't know how may CSX SD60 shots there are in total. Does the "super rare" nature of this shot justify acceptance?

I think in this situation it is a moot point because I suspect a properly cropped version of a shot taken a few seconds before this one will end up getting on.
I re-cropped it too their likings, and they shut the door again!
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...key=1242885904
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:41 PM   #16
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
You obviously dont know this, but the lead locomotive is an SD60, not an SD50. One of only 10 CSX bought in 1988. That alone makes this photo super rare and it should be accepted just based on that fact. Appeal and demand that they accept it based on this fact.

If that dont work, you need some space on the left, otherwise, I really dont see much wrong with it. Lighting could be better, but hey... it is what it is.
It was late last night.. I was literally asleep.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:42 PM   #17
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

Oh my GOD, an SD60!? Why didn't you say so!?!
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:48 PM   #18
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
Well, that brings up the old question of what kind of shots RP should accept, and should they lower the standard for particular kinds of shots or rather shots with particular content. There are already 8 shots of CSXT 8708 on the database, two more of CSX 8708, including one from October. I don't know how may CSX SD60 shots there are in total. Does the "super rare" nature of this shot justify acceptance?

I think in this situation it is a moot point because I suspect a properly cropped version of a shot taken a few seconds before this one will end up getting on.
A few seconds earlier, would require a chainsaw for a good shot.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 07:12 PM   #19
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHapsias View Post
A few seconds earlier, would require a chainsaw for a good shot.
No, the same shot, from the same spot, with the camera pointed in exactly the same direction, would not require any cutting but would have the lead engine posted further away from the left edge, say a half engine length.

As for the latest, I think it is worth a try with simply a modest increase in brightness or exposure.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 07:48 PM   #20
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
No, the same shot, from the same spot, with the camera pointed in exactly the same direction, would not require any cutting but would have the lead engine posted further away from the left edge, say a half engine length.

As for the latest, I think it is worth a try with simply a modest increase in brightness or exposure.
That is true said. I will try a increase in brightness slightly.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 08:02 PM   #21
PLEzero
Senior Member
 
PLEzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
You obviously dont know this, but the lead locomotive is an SD60, not an SD50. One of only 10 CSX bought in 1988. That alone makes this photo super rare and it should be accepted just based on that fact. Appeal and demand that they accept it based on this fact.

If that dont work, you need some space on the left, otherwise, I really dont see much wrong with it. Lighting could be better, but hey... it is what it is.
One of 10 with CSX heritage. There are 25 currently on the CSX roster if you're actually keeping track.

Here are two photos from that same location that got into the database. You should probably compare them to yours and make adjustments from there.


Image © Wade H. Massie
PhotoID: 181272
Photograph © Wade H. Massie


Image © Tom Mugnano
PhotoID: 338461
Photograph © Tom Mugnano


This also goes along with the database labeling thread....

You should really label your photos so that they show up when you search for that particular location. You have "Liberty Boro". Nothing is going to come up when you search for that. Same with Tom's photo from above. He didn't take the time to make sure "Pennsylvania" was typed in correctly and now his photo does not show up. The same goes for calling it "CSX Q389-20". It's really best to not add the date, that way you can search for that specific train. If you do decide to add the full symbol, it should have read "CSX Q38920".
__________________
Brad Morocco
Candyland, PA
My Flickr Photos
My RP.net Photos
PLEzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 08:06 PM   #22
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLEzero View Post
One of 10 with CSX heritage. There are 25 currently on the CSX roster if you're actually keeping track.


Image © Wade H. Massie
PhotoID: 181272
Photograph © Wade H. Massie


Image © Tom Mugnano
PhotoID: 338461
Photograph © Tom Mugnano


This also goes along with the database labeling thread....

You should really label your photos so that they show up when you search for that particular location. You have "Liberty Boro". Nothing is going to come up when you search for that. Same with Tom's photo from above. He didn't take the time to make sure "Pennsylvania" was typed in correctly and now his photo does not show up. The same goes for calling it "CSX Q389-20". It's really best to not add the date, that way you can search for that specific train. If you do decide to add the full symbol, it should have read "CSX Q38920".
I will fix the ID; along with the location. Thanks for the correction Brad.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 08:07 PM   #23
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainboysd40 View Post
Oh my GOD, an SD60!? Why didn't you say so!?!


I am shocked! An SD60!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 08:22 PM   #24
jnohallman
Senior Member
 
jnohallman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHapsias View Post
I don't have the money for a decent editor.
On Amazon.com right now you can get a new copy of Photoshop Elements 7 for $58 bucks. While it's not the latest version, it is certainly a capable editor and, among other things, has the ability with the proper Adobe plug-in to edit RAW images directly. The only reason I moved up to PSE 8, which you should be able to get for around $80, is that I couldn't find my PSE 7 software when I bought my new computer.

Of course, if you don't want to spend that, ask someone to give it to you for your birthday, or Christmas, or Hannukah, or Kwanzaa, or Festivus, or Guy Fawkes Day (oops, too late for that one until next year!) . . .

Jon
__________________
"Everybody talks about the weather, but nobody does anything about it." - Mark Twain

Click here to see my photos on RP.net!

Do not, under any circumstances whatsoever, click here. Don't even think about it. I'm warning you!
jnohallman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 10:16 PM   #25
Joe the Photog
A dude with a camera
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
Sounds like you got a special bundle from your retailer, I am pretty sure Canon does not include PSE normally. They have their own software, DPP, which they include.
Come to think of it, this was my first digital camera, the 300D. Maybe it was a special thing back in the dark ages of 2004.
__________________
Joseph C. Hinson Photography
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.