Old 10-09-2009, 02:14 AM   #1
David Harrison
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 327
Default Contest...Guess Whats Wrong

Have at it guys. Have fun. Or dare I think they meant to add it to the DB>


http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...1&key=75651259


David Harrison
David Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:19 AM   #2
Walter S
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Walter S
Default

Bad cropping, backlit...
__________________
Walter Scriptunas II
Scriptunasimages.com
Walter S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:30 AM   #3
Andrew Blaszczyk (2)
Senior Member
 
Andrew Blaszczyk (2)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Posts: 1,956
Send a message via AIM to Andrew Blaszczyk (2) Send a message via Yahoo to Andrew Blaszczyk (2)
Default

Foreground clutter, bad cropping, composition issues...
__________________
-Andrew Blaszczyk a.k.a. AB(2)
Proud fan of the Sabres, Islanders, Rockies, and Lions.

"My camera is an artistic medium, not a tool of terrorism."

www.ab2photography.com Coming soon!
My photos on RailPictures:
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=960
Andrew Blaszczyk (2) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:43 AM   #4
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

I'll start with poor cropping.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:50 AM   #5
David Harrison
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 327
Default

This idea is from a video I shot dozens of years ago showing the "L" passing by the home signal at the end of the Howard ST platform, so yes the reverse move signal is there deliberately. Why is this not a good idea in this situation. YOu mean you can't put something in the foreground to contrast with the train. The Willis Tower in the background was added bonus, or so I thought.

David Harrison
David Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:55 AM   #6
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Willis is awkwardly cut off, dead space on the left, signal might be cropped a little off, would like to see more of the signal.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:56 AM   #7
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Harrison View Post
YOu mean you can't put something in the foreground to contrast with the train. The Willis Tower in the background was added bonus, or so I thought.

David Harrison
All the dead space on the left side and the right side is full is why it got hit down.
You're trying something that gets a watchful eye on here, as you add more there more to get dinged for so shoot 15 ? shots all different till you can pick the one you think is best. There is a shot there that will work.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/

Last edited by milwman; 10-09-2009 at 03:04 AM. Reason: add more
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:57 AM   #8
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

left/right balance is poor, plus you cut off the radio towers on the SEARS tower - I'll never call it Willis!
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 03:18 AM   #9
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

You takin bout willis, J!
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 03:22 AM   #10
David Harrison
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 327
Default

OOPS!! Looked at the original and I did only get in the very top of the antenna masts and lost some of that in the leveling process. OK, a re-shoot is in order...third one.

So it would be impossible to include all of the Sears/Willis Tower because there would always be that empty sky. I could crop at the top of the signal and include the entire signal. Unfortunately, the signal leans. Glad someone said there's a shot here somewhere. It's a hard location and the operators get nervous coming off that slight off set. Hard to shoot and give a "proceed" hand signal even though I'm standing behind the safety marker.

David Harrison
David Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 03:27 AM   #11
Walter S
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Walter S
Default

If you step back a few feet and get in the middle of the tracks I think it may work.

IM KIDDING! lol
__________________
Walter Scriptunas II
Scriptunasimages.com
Walter S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 03:34 AM   #12
David Harrison
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 327
Default

Walter, I thought Travis Dewitz had the patent on that kind of shot....you know, sitting the camera on the ties and letting the train run over it.

David Harrison
David Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 03:37 AM   #13
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

I don't trust my camera on the electrified 3rd rail.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 03:42 AM   #14
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

You might want to try some fill flash to brighten the signal. As it is, it's just too dark in any composition.
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 03:42 AM   #15
David Harrison
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 327
Default

Electrified third rail...it's only 600 volts DC. And it's off on the side anyways. It's the London Underground that has the third rail down the middle of the track. Never could find out if you could get a shock from it...it's about 250 volts negative DC.

David Harrison
David Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 03:49 AM   #16
Walter S
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Walter S
Default

Just straddle the third rail duhh lol
__________________
Walter Scriptunas II
Scriptunasimages.com
Walter S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 04:01 AM   #17
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Harrison View Post
YOu mean you can't put something in the foreground to contrast with the train.
Nobody said or even hinted at that. Your foreground subject matter in this shots looks like you were either trying to shoot past it or didn't really notice it. It's haphazzard and not well thought out.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 04:28 AM   #18
David Harrison
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 327
Default

Good point Joe. As pointed out earlier, I should include the entire signal. Here's my resubmission.



David Harrison
David Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 01:20 PM   #19
lock4244
Senior Member
 
lock4244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The City Below Vaughan
Posts: 1,048
Default

It's a subway.
__________________
Mike Lockwood

Insert witty comment here

Hot girl on girl action here!

More Pics Here
lock4244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 01:29 PM   #20
cblaz
Senior Member
 
cblaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Marlboro, New Jersey
Posts: 1,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Harrison View Post
Good point Joe. As pointed out earlier, I should include the entire signal. Here's my resubmission.
Signal's still cut off. Still a lot of dead space on the left. Sears Tower cut off awkwardly.

- Chris
/Hears an echo in this thread.
__________________
- Christopher Blaszczyk
My shots on RP: http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=284
cblaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 05:40 PM   #21
Diamond D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 191
Default

agree with Chris... the whole left side is still dead space The light is also not very inviting, especially for the signals, my eye is not drawn to them. Might be time to rethink your position on the platform and time of day
Diamond D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 05:18 AM   #22
Slopes09
Senior Member
 
Slopes09's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Here.
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Slopes09
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
Willis is awkwardly cut off, dead space on the left, signal might be cropped a little off, would like to see more of the signal.
Take that back! It's called the "Sears." It shall never be the Willis.
__________________
-Mike W.
Railroad Civil Engineer

Pretty much the only Pentax Shooter.

Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Slopes09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 11:34 PM   #23
WembYard
Senior Member
 
WembYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 646
Default

The rail in the middle of the track on the London Underground is called the "4th rail" and is actually the negative or return rail. The power supply varies between 600 and 750V DC and is the 3rd rail, which is in a similar position to the Chicago system.

My "Underground contact" tells me that it is possible to get an electric shock from the 4th rail if there is a train in the vicinity or, much more likely, if there is an earth going to the the rail from something like a defective train. In any case, the instructions for working on such lines is don't touch any rail - the same applies on the national network (Network Rail) as well.

With regards to your picture, there needs to be more on the right and less on the left, I would like to see the whole signal.
WembYard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 02:30 PM   #24
shanedeemer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 106
Default

It's leaning to the left, high sun, and of a CTA train.
shanedeemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 04:58 AM   #25
David Harrison
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 327
Default

Hi Janet, thanks for the info about the 4th rail.

My picture seems a dead issue. I would like to see an example on the DB where a signal in the foreground is included with the train in the mid background. Unfortunately, there is nothing to the right of the signal except the back wall of an enclosed mini interlocking tower with a window covered with grating. Here's a rejection that has the entire signal.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...key=1293620090

Just for fun I cropped out everything.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=304686948

I know..conventional wisdom says the train needs room to breathe. Well we know what's left, what's right, and we won't even mention the Willis/Sears in the background.

David Harrison
David Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.