Old 12-11-2011, 08:16 AM   #1
Slug96
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Pedro,CA
Posts: 5
Default RAW Pictures in Photoshop

I just started taking pictures in RAW on my Canon 60D. I installed the patched 6.2 for Photoshop Elements 8 but before I open a picture I don't have a preview of each file in the "open" window. Is there a way to get around this? Any information will be appreciated!
__________________
~David Carballido-Jeans
San Pedro,CA
Railpictures.Net: David C-Jeans
Slug96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:06 PM   #2
CN Railfan
Senior Member
 
CN Railfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 153
Default

I know with PSE 9 the only icon I get is the PSE icon. I do not know of a preview icon like normal jpegs.
CN Railfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 04:52 PM   #3
crazytiger
Senior Member
 
crazytiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NS Greenville District
Posts: 1,473
Default

No, I don't think so, because the images are RAW, the thumbnail reader only works with .jpg's.
__________________
Peter Lewis | Portfolio | Profile | Flickr | Facebook

Canon EOS 40D
Canon EF 50 f/1.8 II
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM


Quote:
Originally Posted by A Friend
everytime i see non-train photos of yours i think, "so much talent. wasted on trains."
crazytiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 05:40 PM   #4
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

I don't know anything about this, but you might want to start here:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...ssage=35851509

or do searches on "windoes 7 raw image thumbnailer"

it was easy in Win XP but I haven't taken the to hunt the info down for Win7. I suspect PSE uses the WinOS to generate the "open" window so this is OS dependent.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 09:50 PM   #5
KevinM
Senior Member
 
KevinM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,010
Default

Not sure I fully understand the nature of the problem. Are you just looking for thumbnail views of each of your files after you download them from the camera for the purpose of selecting which ones you want to postprocess?

If so, I thought that's what the PSE Organizer was for. The Organizer can be used to download files from the camera, renaming them and directing them to specific folders in the process. Personally, I was never a fan of the Organizer in PSE 6, so I quit using it entirely when I got Lightroom. That said, perhaps they've improved the functionality in the newer versions of PSE, such as Version 8.

Nikon users can also use a program called ViewNX, which offers a Lightroom-style look at raw files. It comes with all Nikon Cameras. It may also have some rudimentary editing capability, but I've never looked into it. I used it in lieu of the PSE Organizer until I got Lightroom. For reviewing and managing files, I don't think any of the other Adobe products can touch Lightroom.
__________________
/Kevin

My RP stuff is here.

Link to my Flickr Albums. Lots of Steam Railroad stuff there from all over the US.
KevinM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:07 PM   #6
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slug96 View Post
I just started taking pictures in RAW on my Canon 60D. I installed the patched 6.2 for Photoshop Elements 8 but before I open a picture I don't have a preview of each file in the "open" window. Is there a way to get around this? Any information will be appreciated!
You dont get a preview. If you want a preview, use DPP or ZoomBrowser EX...
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:38 AM   #7
Mr. Pick
Senior Member
 
Mr. Pick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 662
Default

I download my pics from the camera into Zoom EX Browser, then import just the frames I want to process into Lightroom or PSE. That has worked well for me.
Mr. Pick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 01:51 AM   #8
Slug96
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Pedro,CA
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for all the help everyone!

I talk to a friend and he said that he shoots in RAW/ S Jepg. The camera would make a RAW copy and a Jepg copy. Not sure if anyone else takes photos like that.

Thanks again for all your help.
__________________
~David Carballido-Jeans
San Pedro,CA
Railpictures.Net: David C-Jeans
Slug96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 02:28 AM   #9
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Are you saying that if one shoots raw+JPG that one gets thumbnails in the file open window?

For both kinds of files, or just for the JPG but then one can easily figure out which raw is which?
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 05:21 AM   #10
Slug96
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Pedro,CA
Posts: 5
Default

The camera will take a picture and make two copies of it. One will be a RAW file type and other one will be a jpeg. So when you see both files on the computer, it will show as "IMG_201". One will be the RAW version and wont show a thumbnail and the other will be "IMG_201.jpeg" with a thumbnail.
__________________
~David Carballido-Jeans
San Pedro,CA
Railpictures.Net: David C-Jeans
Slug96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:30 AM   #11
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
Are you saying that if one shoots raw+JPG that one gets thumbnails in the file open window?

For both kinds of files, or just for the JPG but then one can easily figure out which raw is which?
Depends on the OS, application opening it and other settings, but the answer is "maybe". Shooting RAW + JPEG slows the camera down and uses your buffer faster, which may or may not matter to you.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:22 AM   #12
ddavies
Senior Member
 
ddavies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 381
Default

I shoot raw and jpg at the same time. I use the jpg version to view the full size images, since most programs only see a 160 pixel large image with the raw file. These jpg images are deleted after I choose the best raw images to keep.
ddavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 03:23 AM   #13
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

I open my RAW files in DPP upon downloading and begin editting there. Then I convert to JPG (keeping the RAW unsaved) and open it up is PSE 7 to do some touch up. PSE opens RAW files from my XTi, but not my 60D.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 04:30 AM   #14
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog View Post
I open my RAW files in DPP upon downloading and begin editting there. Then I convert to JPG (keeping the RAW unsaved) and open it up is PSE 7 to do some touch up. PSE opens RAW files from my XTi, but not my 60D.
The Camera Raw 6.2 update supports the 60D and will install on PSE 8; the camera is supported in PSE 9 and 10 also, of course. If you are using an older PSE, it may be worth upgrading. I went from 3 to 9 and the Recovery slider in RAW conversion is worth the price by itself.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.