Old 11-15-2005, 02:05 AM   #1
VirginiaSouthern
Banned
 
VirginiaSouthern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to VirginiaSouthern Send a message via Yahoo to VirginiaSouthern
Default Overexposed...possible causes?

I can see how this photo was rejected, so I'm looking for some help from the some of you for next time. Could it be that using 200 ISO film but having the camera set on automatic caused it to overexpose? Would it be better next time around to manually set the camera to 200?

Any help would be much appreciated.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=185363
VirginiaSouthern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 02:14 AM   #2
MOJAX
Member
 
MOJAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 55
Send a message via Yahoo to MOJAX
Default

That's an interesting "slug". EMD trucks, Alco nose and, what looks like an EMD SW 1500 cab.

Thanks for sharing the photo!
__________________
Michael O'Neil
MOJAX

My Photos at:RailPictures.Net!
MOJAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 02:16 AM   #3
VirginiaSouthern
Banned
 
VirginiaSouthern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to VirginiaSouthern Send a message via Yahoo to VirginiaSouthern
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MOJAX
That's an interesting "slug". EMD trucks, Alco nose and, what looks like an EMD SW 1500 cab.

Thanks for sharing the photo!
From the Buckingham Branch Yahoo group...

"To answer the multiple questions, WW 120 is an ex CR MT-4. It is ex
CR 1020, and was indeed built from an RS-11. The EMD running gear
was added by CR long ago, I believe they re-trucked their slugs some
time in the 80's.

120 has been in service on the WW Virginia Division for several
years, and the cab was very recently added. Close on the MP15, but
it came from IHB SW1500 9210, which was scrapped several years ago.
The cab was added to allow WW to use only one powered unit on "the
Sandman," their regular job between the sand mine at Gore and
Winchester. Previously, the slug spliced two powered units. To
save fuel, and in response to lower traffic, only one unit and the
slug were needed. Instead of having the brakeman stand on the porch
of the slug and ride all the way to Gore clearing crossings, it was
decided to make 120 a fully functioning road slug. It has been in
service for about 2 weeks now. To see it cabless, and working on
the scenic route of the Sandman, check my northeast page at:

http://www.shortlinesusa.com

Why has traffic decreased, you ask? The high quality sand at the
Unimin mine in Gore is used in such applications as glass making,
and cathode ray tube makers are (were) a big consumer. With all of
the new flat screen TVs and monitors, this is a declining market,
and it has hurt both the Virginia and New Jersey Divisions from my
understanding.

Finally, anyone wanting to get shots of 120 should know that
Unimin's major customer (who that is, I do not know) is trucking
their sand through November, so the Sandman is running about once a
week right now. Action shots will be tough to come by for the next
month or so.

Yep, off topic, but I just can't turn down an opportunity to talk
shortlines! Hope this helps answer some Qs..."
VirginiaSouthern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 02:34 AM   #4
brunswickrailfan
Senior Member
 
brunswickrailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Jefferson, MD/Shippensburg, PA
Posts: 208
Send a message via AIM to brunswickrailfan
Default

That slug is a real kitbash...alco + emd + W&W welding...
__________________
--Dan
KB3LDB
Web Photo Editor, SU Slate
http://dputz.deviantart.com
http://members.trainorders.com/dputz/v2
brunswickrailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 02:39 AM   #5
VirginiaSouthern
Banned
 
VirginiaSouthern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to VirginiaSouthern Send a message via Yahoo to VirginiaSouthern
Default

Either of you two have any advice on the shot? Am I right about the camera speed or am I way off?
VirginiaSouthern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 03:18 AM   #6
cmherndon
Banned
 
cmherndon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 883
Send a message via AIM to cmherndon Send a message via Yahoo to cmherndon
Default

Well, first of all, the best thing is to go fully manual. ISO 200 isn't too bad, and you actually need less light to expose it. When you're shooting, a smaller aperture (higher number) or faster shutter speed will allow less light to enter the lens, and in turn help prevent overexposure.
cmherndon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 03:19 AM   #7
busyEMT
Senior Member
 
busyEMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 902
Default

If you have the capabilities, you may want to tone down the blue tint and touch down the contrast. This still may leave it light enough. Then you may have to contend with cropping.

Try that, then post it here to get some more opinions.
__________________
Aaron Florin- Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Visit Twin Cities Railfan.com
Visit the Twin Cities Railfan forums.

Don't do anything you wouldn't want to explain to the paramedics!
busyEMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 03:22 AM   #8
StL-rail
Senior Member
 
StL-rail's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to StL-rail Send a message via MSN to StL-rail Send a message via Yahoo to StL-rail
Default

I started out in digital photography, but am taking Photo I in school now, so I can tell you this:you might have rather chosen the next higher shutter speed, or stopped down the aperture about 2 stops. I had already been using the same basics in digital, but somehow B&W film is still totally different in results.
__________________
John

Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!

-Canadian Pacific Conductor
-Union Pacific Conductor
-RRC Switchman
StL-rail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 03:48 AM   #9
VirginiaSouthern
Banned
 
VirginiaSouthern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to VirginiaSouthern Send a message via Yahoo to VirginiaSouthern
Default

What might be a good shutterspeed and apeture setting. I know it varies depending on the shot, but say for the pic I have linked here...any recommendations?

Last edited by VirginiaSouthern; 11-15-2005 at 04:10 AM. Reason: Causing I'm having problems with the English language tonight.
VirginiaSouthern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 08:46 AM   #10
Ru1056
Senior Member
 
Ru1056's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indianapolis IN
Posts: 438
Send a message via Yahoo to Ru1056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirginaSouthern
Last edited by VirginiaSouthern : Yesterday at 11:10 PM. Reason: Causing I'm having problems with the English language tonight.
Then just use the new national language.


Spanish.
__________________
Billy

JREB.ORG. Moderated discussion forums about NS & CSX

Remember the ugly photo god.
Ru1056 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 09:06 AM   #11
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

The Wade Massie standard:

1/500s @ f/5.6 at ISO 100

It's a good base, and you can adjust up or down from there...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 10:56 AM   #12
VirginiaSouthern
Banned
 
VirginiaSouthern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to VirginiaSouthern Send a message via Yahoo to VirginiaSouthern
Default

Groovy. Thanks dude!
VirginiaSouthern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 01:15 PM   #13
busyEMT
Senior Member
 
busyEMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 902
Default

I used to be a 1/125th @ f/11 or 13 but in a third of the time, I would get blur on the edge of the frame. Now I am a 1/250th @ 6.7 to 9 depending on the stregnth of the sun. (I also do less lightening in the PS).
__________________
Aaron Florin- Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Visit Twin Cities Railfan.com
Visit the Twin Cities Railfan forums.

Don't do anything you wouldn't want to explain to the paramedics!
busyEMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 01:21 PM   #14
ddavies
Senior Member
 
ddavies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 381
Default

The only reason to not let the camera read the film speed, would be if the function did not work, which you can figure out by comparing the exposure reading it gives when loaded with the slowest film you have, and then the highest film speed you have. If you get the same light readings, the function is broken, and you will have to set the speed manually. It may also be possible that the speed can not be read correctly by the camera if the camera contacts are dirty, or the film speed foil on the film cassette that the camera reads is dirty.
ddavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 01:35 PM   #15
VirginiaSouthern
Banned
 
VirginiaSouthern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to VirginiaSouthern Send a message via Yahoo to VirginiaSouthern
Default

Awesome. Thanks guys.

I think once I get some spare time and a little extra money (saving for a wedding), a photography class is in order for me as well.
VirginiaSouthern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 11:44 PM   #16
willie6622
Senior Member
 
willie6622's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The sprawling metropolis of Powhatan Point, Ohio
Posts: 158
Default Some of my thoughts

If the train you are shooting is going over 25mph I wouldn't go any slower than 1/320th, & at 40 to 60mph you probably want to go with 1/500th. If your subject is on a 10mph branch line(or stopped) you can get away with the slower shuter speeds & high f#'s to increase sharpness.

This is what works for me.
Willie
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
willie6622 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 12:09 AM   #17
VirginiaSouthern
Banned
 
VirginiaSouthern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to VirginiaSouthern Send a message via Yahoo to VirginiaSouthern
Default

Thanks Willie! I'm gonna try that stuff out too.
VirginiaSouthern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 12:13 AM   #18
LAHDPOP
Senior Member
 
LAHDPOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirginiaSouthern
(saving for a wedding)
A gift for another, or YOUR wedding? If it's your wedding, you better go ahead and buy whatever camera rig you want right NOW while you control your own finances.

If I was kidding, I'd cheerfully say, "JK! lol..lol..lol.." But I'm not. Go to the BX tomorrow, and get the Canon Digital Rebel XT.



P.S. Don't let the little laughing emoticon fool you. I'm not kidding. Go to the BX before she has your AAFES card!!!!!
__________________
Bret Stringer

I didn't say it was your fault.... I said I was going to blame you.

Click Here to see my rp.net photos.

Click Here to see my "personal collection"
LAHDPOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 12:25 AM   #19
VirginiaSouthern
Banned
 
VirginiaSouthern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to VirginiaSouthern Send a message via Yahoo to VirginiaSouthern
Default

The beautiful thing is I do not have to worry about that for a number of reasons.

1. She works and is the edumacated one in the relationship.

2. She has her hobbies to spend her money on and I have mine and neither has a problem with this. Plus, both of us are pretty frugal spenders. She can spend her money on Ren Faire/Medevil time stuff and I've got my train obsession and CW reenacting.

3. Except for rent and bills, finances will be kept seperate, at least for the first couple of years while we both pay off the small amount of debt we have respectively.

4. My goal is definitely to pick up a Canon Digital Rebel next year. I should have it by the middle to end of next Summer ready for a break in during the fall.

Last edited by VirginiaSouthern; 11-16-2005 at 12:33 AM.
VirginiaSouthern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 12:51 AM   #20
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Go to the BX tomorrow, and get the Canon Digital Rebel XT.
Believe it or not, the XT is sold at the BX here...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 01:37 AM   #21
SD70MAC
HOBO
 
SD70MAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ween
The Wade Massie standard:

1/500s @ f/5.6 at ISO 100

It's a good base, and you can adjust up or down from there...
HA, I also use the Wade Massie Standard. When I first got my digital camera Wade told me those settings for when shooting on a sunny day and I have always obtained a properly exposed photo.
SD70MAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 03:27 AM   #22
MOJAX
Member
 
MOJAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 55
Send a message via Yahoo to MOJAX
Default

T-Bone

Thanks for the info on the slug. I have an interest in loco's that are "kit-bashed", especially pre-80s stuff.

Best of luck with the wedding!
__________________
Michael O'Neil
MOJAX

My Photos at:RailPictures.Net!
MOJAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 12:11 PM   #23
LAHDPOP
Senior Member
 
LAHDPOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ween
Believe it or not, the XT is sold at the BX here...
Well, it's almost Christmas. You bringing one back for me? I'll even drive up to ND and pick it up. Thanks, Ween, appreciate it! Maybe I'll cancel the Grissom tanker we've got coming in for Employer Rides, and get you guys down here instead. Lotta trains here.......
__________________
Bret Stringer

I didn't say it was your fault.... I said I was going to blame you.

Click Here to see my rp.net photos.

Click Here to see my "personal collection"
LAHDPOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 02:50 PM   #24
busyEMT
Senior Member
 
busyEMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAHDPOP
Well, it's almost Christmas. You bringing one back for me? I'll even drive up to ND and pick it up. Thanks, Ween, appreciate it! Maybe I'll cancel the Grissom tanker we've got coming in for Employer Rides, and get you guys down here instead. Lotta trains here.......
Why not take the Grissom then Ween could get some photos for JetPhotos. Or I will give you a CF card for your flight.
__________________
Aaron Florin- Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Visit Twin Cities Railfan.com
Visit the Twin Cities Railfan forums.

Don't do anything you wouldn't want to explain to the paramedics!
busyEMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 07:29 PM   #25
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Maybe I'll cancel the Grissom tanker we've got coming in for Employer Rides, and get you guys down here instead.
No way. I've done enough damn flying these past 2 months that the last thing I want to do when I get home is fly more. Unfortunately, I still have some end of the year beans to knock out, like formation. Looks like I'll have to fly in the cold now. Dang.

As for the XT, get it from B&H; the deals aren't that good over here!
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.