Go Back   RailPictures.Net Forums > Railroad Photography Forums > Digital Photo Processing Forum

View Poll Results: Is this too much manipulation?
Yes 2 5.41%
No 35 94.59%
Voters: 37. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2008, 09:27 PM   #26
ccaranna
Senior Member
 
ccaranna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 740
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLEzero
What poles? Your camera must be broken.
Nicely done. You've just been placed on the "Screen with a Fine Tooth Comb" list at RP.net.
ccaranna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 10:13 PM   #27
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccaranna
Nicely done. You've just been placed on the "Screen with a Fine Tooth Comb" list at RP.net.
That's the funniest thing I've read today.

I agree...nice clone job. Can I send you one to do with the train I got there now? haha

In the next year or so, I expect that code line to be gone anyway...so maybe by next winter I'll be able to get a shot that'll look a lot like that.

Last edited by JimThias; 04-03-2008 at 10:16 PM.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 10:19 PM   #28
ssw9662
Senior Member
 
ssw9662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 839
Default

I'll identify myself as the one you voted "yes", though that's partially because I misread the original question.

The idea itself sounds fine, but the example photo has a somewhat "unnatural" look to me. Maybe it's just my monitor, but the first thing in the photo that jumps out at me is the fake-looking darkness on the top half of the train and on the tree to the left of the train. While it lacks the "halos" created on the upper edge of objects like the ones found when using the shadows/highlights feature, the train itself still has an unnatural look to me similar to the effect one gets from using that tool.

To put it simply: Yes, I don't have any problem with the usage of this technique for photos. However, I think it is something that could easily be overdone (kind of like the aforementioned shadows/highlights tool). Maybe it's just because I prefer to get my photos from camera to internet with as little post processing as possible; I feel much more proud of my work if I know that the effect I wanted was captured "in the field" rather than in Photoshop.
__________________
Austin
Canon EOS 7D
Canon 70-200mm f/4 L
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Canon 50mm f/1.8
My Railpictures.net Photos
flickr
ssw9662 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 01:25 AM   #29
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

The yes is spoken for, and we have unanimous agreement that this photo is fine!
As for poles, use them!
Image © Matthew Hicks
PhotoID: 169736
Photograph © Matthew Hicks

And oversaturation? Blame compact cameras! I always boost the saturation on my shots, but when they come out of the camera already saturated, and I boost it even more...not good!
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 02:10 AM   #30
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainboysd40
And oversaturation? Blame compact cameras! I always boost the saturation on my shots, but when they come out of the camera already saturated, and I boost it even more...not good!
Last year, when I was uploading my older Canon A80 digicam shots, I reduced saturation every time, I think it was by about a -10. Coming out of the camera it just looked bad.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 07:11 AM   #31
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

My shots are so eye-poppingly bad I don't even want to look at them to re-edit...
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 11:14 PM   #32
Mike B.
Banned
 
Mike B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,343
Default

I'm not going to get into the 'manipulation argument' but the shot itself sure could use some work.
Mike B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 01:56 AM   #33
socalrailfan
Master Railfan
 
socalrailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 714
Default

I think as long as you don't add or take away something from a photo it's not manipulation. I actually had a manipulation get in, one where I used a pole filter. I submitted a shot, it got rejected. I had done a second version for myself where I removed a pole from the top of the lead engine. Well when I resubmitted I sent the wrong photo and before I could pull it it got accepted, oh well, surprised the screener didn't notice.

I personally love layers, levels, masking, etc. I tend to only do it when I need to bring the sky out a bit.

But I still think pole filters should be allowed! Wirelines are another thing I'd like to see some leeway on.
__________________
Thanks,
Dave
www.SoCalRailFan.com
See more of my train photos at:
http://community.webshots.com/user/firehouse16
See my train videos at:
http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=SoCalRailFan
socalrailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 02:25 AM   #34
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalrailfan
I think as long as you don't add or take away something from a photo it's not manipulation. I actually had a manipulation get in, one where I used a pole filter. I submitted a shot, it got rejected. I had done a second version for myself where I removed a pole from the top of the lead engine. Well when I resubmitted I sent the wrong photo and before I could pull it it got accepted, oh well, surprised the screener didn't notice.


There was a recent #1 PCA that you could see where the photographer cloned out the wires. Not only was there a blotchy trail in the sky, but he also missed a little bit of the wires at the top of the image!

Talk about screeners missing a clone job, not to mention all the people who posted a comment without any mention of it...
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 02:46 AM   #35
socalrailfan
Master Railfan
 
socalrailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 714
Default

I just looked up the shot I had mentioned. I must have been guilty and had them change it to the one not manipulated. look at the other version below and you can see the difference.

Image © Dave Toussaint
PhotoID: 110971
Photograph © Dave Toussaint
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	002 - 062905 - Dave Toussaint.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	184.6 KB
ID:	2698  
__________________
Thanks,
Dave
www.SoCalRailFan.com
See more of my train photos at:
http://community.webshots.com/user/firehouse16
See my train videos at:
http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=SoCalRailFan
socalrailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 03:02 AM   #36
gbrozny
Senior Member
 
gbrozny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 169
Send a message via ICQ to gbrozny
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalrailfan
I just looked up the shot I had mentioned. I must have been guilty and had them change it to the one not manipulated. look at the other version below and you can see the difference.

Image © Dave Toussaint
PhotoID: 110971
Photograph © Dave Toussaint
I do not really mind minor things like this, I would of loved to get rid of the power lines in this one:

Image © Geoff Brozny
PhotoID: 230037
Photograph © Geoff Brozny


I try my best to make sure I do not have poles sticking out of the nose and stuff like that, sometimes though it does not work out that way.
gbrozny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 12:00 PM   #37
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalrailfan
I just looked up the shot I had mentioned. I must have been guilty and had them change it to the one not manipulated. look at the other version below and you can see the difference.
Looks like you left some of the pole in the manipulated version.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 09:35 PM   #38
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrozny
Image © Geoff Brozny
PhotoID: 230037
Photograph © Geoff Brozny


I try my best to make sure I do not have poles sticking out of the nose and stuff like that, sometimes though it does not work out that way.
I did not notice the wires and poles in that shot until you mentioned it, Geoff. The signal and the nice paint job on tose SW1500s, one ofmy favorite engines, pretty much took my attention.

Very nice shot.


Joe
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 03:01 AM   #39
gbrozny
Senior Member
 
gbrozny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 169
Send a message via ICQ to gbrozny
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog
I did not notice the wires and poles in that shot until you mentioned it, Geoff. The signal and the nice paint job on tose SW1500s, one ofmy favorite engines, pretty much took my attention.

Very nice shot.


Joe
Thanks Joe, I think I have became a bit over concerned about background clutter, back in that area is one of the harder spots to get something with minimum poles and wires, and I was actually more concerned about a wood pole that is about where the lead locos cab is, I was able to get low enough where the train blocked it out completely. Sometimes though, either due to lack of time to setup for a shot or due to my old cameras inability to focus properly, some of my shots have poles in kind of bad spots, not much I could do to prevent it though.
gbrozny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:11 AM   #40
WembYard
Senior Member
 
WembYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 646
Default

Sorry, a bit late on this one - but just to add that I do not consider it to be too much manipulation.

It is no different to making a print from a negative. I have a large collection of colour and B&W negatives, some of which have had several prints made from them - the variations from different (or even the same) sources have never ceased to amaze me.
WembYard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 08:40 AM   #41
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

Chris, I just noticed that the pole says GNR on it. That makes the picture amazing
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 03:32 PM   #42
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainboysd40
Chris, I just noticed that the pole says GNR on it. That makes the picture amazing
Yeah, who knew the railroad was such a fan of Guns N' Roses?

Many of the poles along that line have the GNR lettering on it, but I've never been able to figure out how to incorporate those and make a decent shot with a train in it...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.