Old 12-01-2005, 02:18 AM   #1
IC 6071
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Freeport IL
Posts: 199
Send a message via Yahoo to IC 6071
Default What does a New Locomotive Cost??

Hi all, I was just wondering about how much a new, name brand locomotive costs. How about a new railcar? Thanks!!
-Adam
__________________
Click on the link to see my pics.
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=7913

May the CCP the WC and the IC LIVE ON
IC 6071 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 02:24 AM   #2
J
Senior Member
 
J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 584
Default

Locomotives have optional features so price will depend upon features, the number of units ordered and how eager the manufacturer is to make a sale. Keep in mind too that many new units are leased. For a modern 6-axle, figure on $1.5 Million or so. I suspect UP paid less when it ordered 1000 SD70Ms a few years ago!
J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 03:49 AM   #3
BNSF_SD40-2B
Senior Member
 
BNSF_SD40-2B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Illinios
Posts: 316
Send a message via Yahoo to BNSF_SD40-2B
Default

I believe the ES44DC's that BNSF ordered were somewhere between $1.3 and $1.5 million. They got about 200 ES44DC's this year and they also got 90+ ES44AC's this year. They will be getting 30 SD70ACe's next spring, and a possible 100 after those are delivered.
__________________
RP.net pix

Last edited by BNSF_SD40-2B; 12-01-2005 at 04:08 AM.
BNSF_SD40-2B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 04:28 AM   #4
bnsf sammy
Senior Member
 
bnsf sammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 666
Default

This brings up an interesting question...
Lets just say you had 2 mill just laying around and you bought a new ES44DC. Would GE sell it to a regualar civilan? I'm assuming that if GE was to sell it to you, you couldn't go and run it on the BNSF mainline unless you got premission from BNSF right? So I guess if one of us was just going to buy a locomotive you would have to have your own track to run it on, or keep it in your garage.
__________________
BNSF SAMMY
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
bnsf sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 04:37 AM   #5
BNSF_SD40-2B
Senior Member
 
BNSF_SD40-2B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Illinios
Posts: 316
Send a message via Yahoo to BNSF_SD40-2B
Default

I dont think you could buy a new GE or EMD from the company even if you had the money, but I do think you could buy a second generation locomotive for half million or less.
__________________
RP.net pix
BNSF_SD40-2B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 05:53 AM   #6
Slopes09
Senior Member
 
Slopes09's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Here.
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to Slopes09
Default

Try looking here.
This one is only $25,000. Thats less that a car or truck nowadays. Only $5,000 more than my(or soon to be mine) '97 Ford F-150 was when we bought it. And its an ALCO.
__________________
-Mike W.
Railroad Civil Engineer

Pretty much the only Pentax Shooter.

Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!

Last edited by Slopes09; 12-01-2005 at 05:56 AM.
Slopes09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 10:15 AM   #7
dodi4200
Senior Member
 
dodi4200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: kfs city, egypt
Posts: 820
Send a message via Yahoo to dodi4200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnsf sammy
This brings up an interesting question...
Lets just say you had 2 mill just laying around and you bought a new ES44DC. Would GE sell it to a regualar civilan? I'm assuming that if GE was to sell it to you, you couldn't go and run it on the BNSF mainline unless you got premission from BNSF right? So I guess if one of us was just going to buy a locomotive you would have to have your own track to run it on, or keep it in your garage.
i think that you can buy EMD or GE loco.
but i think that if you wanna to run it on bnsf line or any line at first you should get apermission then i think that you sould pay to the company as you are using thier line and run your loco on it.also i think that they may restrict you by limitted time as they should at first run thier trains.
__________________
mohamed
bnsf-born 2 fight
big boy 4-8-8-4 ''best of the west''
(if you like an idea,thought alot in it and worked hard for it.you will get it)
click here 2 c my pix @ rp.net
dodi4200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 01:09 PM   #8
hoydie17
We Own The Night...
 
hoydie17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 789
Send a message via AIM to hoydie17 Send a message via Yahoo to hoydie17
Default

You could probably buy it, but the problem comes about is where are you going to put it?

GE/EMD aren't going to let it occupy their shop track for months. And any RR you choose to have it delivered your way isn't going to let it stay in their yard for months either.

You'd have to get a siding built somewhere, with host RR concurrence big enough to hold the engine. Or maybe you could lease it to a RR, but If I'm paying 2M for a loco, I'm not going to hand it over to a RR to be abused.

Sure, you could buy it, it's just a matter of what happens after you buy it. Big business will take any money you hand them.

Sean

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnsf sammy
This brings up an interesting question...
Lets just say you had 2 mill just laying around and you bought a new ES44DC. Would GE sell it to a regualar civilan? I'm assuming that if GE was to sell it to you, you couldn't go and run it on the BNSF mainline unless you got premission from BNSF right? So I guess if one of us was just going to buy a locomotive you would have to have your own track to run it on, or keep it in your garage.
__________________
See my work on FLICKR: Night Stalker Photo Works on FLICKR

Or if you want to see my work here at RP.net? Click here.

"It's just a damn train son!"
hoydie17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 02:13 PM   #9
Ru1056
Senior Member
 
Ru1056's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indianapolis IN
Posts: 446
Send a message via Yahoo to Ru1056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnsf sammy
This brings up an interesting question...
Lets just say you had 2 mill just laying around and you bought a new ES44DC. Would GE sell it to a regualar civilan? I'm assuming that if GE was to sell it to you, you couldn't go and run it on the BNSF mainline unless you got premission from BNSF right? So I guess if one of us was just going to buy a locomotive you would have to have your own track to run it on, or keep it in your garage.
And you figure in transportation and storage costs more $$$$$.

If I had that kind of money, well, you wouldn't see me buying locomotives thats for sure.
__________________
Billy

JREB.ORG. Moderated discussion forums about NS & CSX

Remember the ugly photo god.
Ru1056 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 04:08 PM   #10
busyEMT
Senior Member
 
busyEMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnsf sammy
So I guess if one of us was just going to buy a locomotive you would have to have your own track to run it on, or keep it in your garage.
My wife poo-poo'd the idea of a snowblower for my humble urban plot. I wonder if she would let me get a GE 70 tonner to run up and down the backyard to take out the garbage more often?!?

I have wondered what it would cost to buy a boxcar and lease it to a railroad.
__________________
Aaron Florin- Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Visit Twin Cities Railfan.com
Visit the Twin Cities Railfan forums.

Don't do anything you wouldn't want to explain to the paramedics!
busyEMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 04:10 PM   #11
WC_SD45Q
Junior Member
 
WC_SD45Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 4
Default New Locomotive Costs

1.5 to 2.0 million depending on the order size. Now if you are looking for a deal you can pick up locomotive for as little as $5000.00 When the CN auctioned off some of their older power a Homewood a couple years ago, some of the units were going for as little as that, and they ran. When the WC bought their original SD45's they picked them up of $50,000. SD40-2's were going for $500,000 at that time - 1987. No you can pick up a SD40-2 for $100,000 to $250,000.

Steve

Quote:
Originally Posted by unionpacificfreak
Hi all, I was just wondering about how much a new, name brand locomotive costs. How about a new railcar? Thanks!!
-Adam
WC_SD45Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 10:27 PM   #12
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 632
Default

You'd spend tens of thousands of dollars on fuel, however. And it would be costly to maintain.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 03:13 AM   #13
bnsf sammy
Senior Member
 
bnsf sammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 666
Default

Yes but you have to remember that buying a locomotive or a railcar is a money making item. The money that you bring in from that can cover the maintence.
__________________
BNSF SAMMY
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
bnsf sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 04:02 AM   #14
BNSF_SD40-2B
Senior Member
 
BNSF_SD40-2B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Illinios
Posts: 316
Send a message via Yahoo to BNSF_SD40-2B
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnsf sammy
Yes but you have to remember that buying a locomotive or a railcar is a money making item. The money that you bring in from that can cover the maintence.
Yes that is IF you owned a railroad, but were talkin' about a personal purchase(if it could happen)
__________________
RP.net pix
BNSF_SD40-2B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 11:23 PM   #15
E.M. Bell
Senior Member
 
E.M. Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Salvisa, Kentucky
Posts: 652
Send a message via MSN to E.M. Bell Send a message via Yahoo to E.M. Bell
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slopes09
Try looking here.
This one is only $25,000. Thats less that a car or truck nowadays. Only $5,000 more than my(or soon to be mine) '97 Ford F-150 was when we bought it. And its an ALCO.
25K for that unit is not really a bargin for one reason, and it says it right on there...Friction Bearings. No class 1 would touch that thing or move it on its own wheels. You would be looking at swapping trucks or having rollers pressed on the existing axles (exspensive shop jobs) or trucking it out...not to mention inspections, COTS dates ect.... add 15 or 20k more to that price just to move it..
__________________
E.M. Bell, KD4JSL
Salvisa, KY


http://www.jreb.org
NS Fourms http://jreb.org/ns
E.M. Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 11:54 PM   #16
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 632
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnsf sammy
Yes but you have to remember that buying a locomotive or a railcar is a money making item. The money that you bring in from that can cover the maintence.
It wouldn't be money making if you owned it. That's what I was infering. Not that anyone would.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 03:52 AM   #17
Slopes09
Senior Member
 
Slopes09's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Here.
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to Slopes09
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by E.M. Bell
25K for that unit is not really a bargin for one reason, and it says it right on there...Friction Bearings. No class 1 would touch that thing or move it on its own wheels. You would be looking at swapping trucks or having rollers pressed on the existing axles (exspensive shop jobs) or trucking it out...not to mention inspections, COTS dates ect.... add 15 or 20k more to that price just to move it..
D@mn! There goes my dream of owning an Alco. Of course, there is always my college money.....
__________________
-Mike W.
Railroad Civil Engineer

Pretty much the only Pentax Shooter.

Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Slopes09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.