Old 08-24-2006, 12:34 AM   #1
chench1536
Member
 
chench1536's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Massohio
Posts: 94
Default Why?

Why do you have to now submit photos with a max width of 1024 pixels? I used to be able to upload photos with dimensions of 2592 pixels by 1944 pixels. But now the max width period is 1024. Any reason for this?
chench1536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 01:06 AM   #2
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default

1024x768 is the standard screen resolution on most computers. 2592px in width is gargantuan compared to that figure.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account

Last edited by Frederick; 08-24-2006 at 01:08 AM.
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 01:33 AM   #3
Chris Starnes
Administrator
 
Chris Starnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chench1536
Why do you have to now submit photos with a max width of 1024 pixels? I used to be able to upload photos with dimensions of 2592 pixels by 1944 pixels. But now the max width period is 1024. Any reason for this?
Why are you uploading 2600 pixel wide images for web display?
__________________
Chris Starnes
Co-Editor, RailPictures.net
Chris Starnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 03:03 AM   #4
becker
Louis Becker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 390
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Starnes
Why are you uploading 2600 pixel wide images for web display?
Probably because his camera takes enourmous images and he doesn't scale them down by 50%. This is a requirement with my camera (Canon Powershot A520) as the shots typically are over 2000 pixels wide.

--Louis Becker
becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 03:12 AM   #5
cmherndon
Banned
 
cmherndon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 883
Send a message via AIM to cmherndon Send a message via Yahoo to cmherndon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by becker
Probably because his camera takes enourmous images and he doesn't scale them down by 50%. This is a requirement with my camera (Canon Powershot A520) as the shots typically are over 2000 pixels wide.
You know, it's not all that difficult to resize a photo.
cmherndon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 03:21 AM   #6
becker
Louis Becker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmherndon
You know, it's not all that difficult to resize a photo.
I'm not saying it is. What I'm saying is that perhaps he has a high speed connection that will upload any photo quickly. In my case, I'm on dialup, so if I try to upload a photo that is 2000 pixels wide, it will take all night. That was the reason that I first started resizing, and now I realize it's the best thing to do.
becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 08:11 AM   #7
photogeek88
Senior Member
 
photogeek88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 111
Send a message via AIM to photogeek88
Default

I don't see how he'd manage to even attempt to upload something that size without going over the 1kb size limit on the file. Heck, I've always kept all my shots either at 1024x768 or below, and I still struggle to save it under 1kb.
photogeek88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 03:53 PM   #8
a231pacific
Senior Member
 
a231pacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 822
Default

I hate to say it, but if you are uploading files the size they came out of your camera, it sounds like you are not doing any image processing. To get a digital photo looking like the scene you actually saw will require sharpening and probably more. Levels, contrast and saturation should all be tweeked in an image processing program to get a better looking picture. Nearly everyone needs to crop a bit as well, unless you are one of the few that can take a perfectly composed shot in camera!

Once you have done all that, you can then easily resize to 1024 as the next step. It was pointed out in an earlier thread that when you used to submit files that were over size, RP's software compressed them and the results often weren't pretty, resulting in a rejection for soft focus or poor image quality. RP has solved that problem by simply blocking large files. What you send now is what you get!

Michael Allen
a231pacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 04:13 PM   #9
chench1536
Member
 
chench1536's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Massohio
Posts: 94
Default

Here is my problem:

When I upload my pics to my PC, they come out the size stated above 2592 by 1944 pixels. I used to RP shrink them to 1024 by 768 and most looked decent. But, since this started (while I was on vacation), I tried resizing one and it looked just AWFUL, since the strips one the front were jagged. So, how should I go about this?
chench1536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 08:05 PM   #10
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default

Can you explain in more detail? I'm not sure what you're saying.

You generally have to sharpen your image after you resize it. Otherwise, the image quality won't be nearly as good.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 10:54 PM   #11
chench1536
Member
 
chench1536's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Massohio
Posts: 94
Default

That might be what I looking for. I'll try that out.
chench1536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.