Old 03-19-2013, 01:02 PM   #1
Sippy554
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
Default Cropped this the wrong way

Did I leave to much sky on this one?

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...86&key=5502773
Sippy554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 01:39 PM   #2
Sippy554
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
Default

Adjusted the cropping to this

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...05&key=9465050
Sippy554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 03:44 PM   #3
jnohallman
Senior Member
 
jnohallman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,527
Default

Looks like you fixed the cropping. Sharpen it a tad more, then resubmit.

Jon
__________________
"Everybody talks about the weather, but nobody does anything about it." - Mark Twain

Click here to see my photos on RP.net!

Do not, under any circumstances whatsoever, click here. Don't even think about it. I'm warning you!
jnohallman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 10:33 PM   #4
Joe the Photog
A dude with a camera
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,964
Default

I think this is going to be one of those times you get rejected for A.) and then fix that and resubmit and get rejected for B.) and then fix that and resubmit and get rejected for A.) again. In other words, I think it's still Bad Cropping. You cut out sky when I would have gone with ground insead, but we'll see what happens.
__________________
Joseph C. Hinson Photography
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 11:40 PM   #5
Sippy554
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
Default

Bingo Joe.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...06&key=8658281

Add C.) to the list. Composition/Balance

But this same balance is ok I guess.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphot...=399945&nseq=1
Sippy554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 11:49 PM   #6
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sippy554 View Post
But this same balance is ok I guess.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphot...=399945&nseq=1
It is not the same balance. All of your crops are too square for this scene. Let's talk about ratios here. I believe you are using a 40D, so the default ratio for that should be 3:2. I have no idea how you're arriving at such a square crop. Compare your crop to the accepted shot above. The ratio of Rich's shot is 3:2, just as yours should be.

I've attached a crop at 3:2, and you can see how the balance feels different. It gets rid of all the useless space at the bottom, while lowering the train in the frame to get it away from being centered.

Also compare the processing of your image to Rich's. While I think his might be slightly overdone, it still pops really well while yours looks very bland. It looks like you had some hazy sunshine, so to compensate for the bland colors, you'll have to boost contrast and saturation a bit.


Name:  6665.1363691590.jpg
Views: 126
Size:  254.5 KB
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 05:36 PM   #7
Sippy554
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
Default

Jim,
I noticed side by side that the power on my shot/edit looked to be narrower compared to the one above.

I'm not sure how I got that aspect either. But I'm on a mission to learn.

Thank you very much for the quick lesson and pointers.
Sippy554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 06:11 PM   #8
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sippy554 View Post
Jim,
I noticed side by side that the power on my shot/edit looked to be narrower compared to the one above.

I'm not sure how I got that aspect either. But I'm on a mission to learn.

Thank you very much for the quick lesson and pointers.
You are welcome. Keep the questions coming. We're always happy to help here.

Couple of questions for you. What program are you using to process your images? Are the photos you posted cropped or are they that aspect ratio straight out of the camera? If you haven't cropped them, it's quite possible that you changed the aspect ratio away from the default 3:2 on your camera. I would suggest checking/changing it if that is the case.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 02:40 AM   #9
Sippy554
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
Default

I'm using Lightroom. And I think I'm NOT aspect ratio cropping. I'm just cropping them.

I looked through my camera and even on line and the 40D is a fixed ratio from what I have read and looked on the camera
Sippy554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 11:10 AM   #10
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sippy554 View Post
I'm using Lightroom. And I think I'm NOT aspect ratio cropping. I'm just cropping them.

I looked through my camera and even on line and the 40D is a fixed ratio from what I have read and looked on the camera
The common image size on RP is 1024 x 683 (3:2 ratio). Recently they upped their size limit to 1200 x 800 (still 3:2). 1024 x 768 is another popular one to use. I don't use Lightroom, but I'm sure someone else here who does can help you figure out how to crop to a specific ratio.

Of course, you don't have to adhere to a specific ratio, but sometimes it's easier to just stick with 3:2 when your camera is already shooting in that ratio.

My 60D can be set to various aspect ratios, so I thought maybe your 40D could be as well.

Last edited by JimThias; 03-21-2013 at 11:13 AM.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 11:37 AM   #11
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
I don't use Lightroom, but I'm sure someone else here who does can help you figure out how to crop to a specific ratio.
Or. You. Could...Google?
http://www.adobe.com/designcenter-ar...ect_ratio.html

There are others, many others. This was just the first one that popped up.

Google...it's amazing!
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 02:02 PM   #12
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ween View Post
Or. You. Could...Google?
Or HE could google is what I think you meant.

And why google when we can have a pleasant discussion about it here?

(nice link, by the way. tutorial videos are great!)

Last edited by JimThias; 03-21-2013 at 02:10 PM.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.