Old 02-29-2012, 01:43 AM   #26
chasejsmith
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AMTK Shoreline MP 103.8
Posts: 56
Default

I'm convinced there's some sort of issue with my monitor because the color looked okay and the histogram checked out. I'll have to work on it. Thanks for all the insight guys. I really appreciate it.

Chase
__________________


Chase Smith

Railpictures.net Photos

Rail-Videos.net Videos
chasejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 06:56 AM   #27
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasejsmith View Post
I'm convinced there's some sort of issue with my monitor because the color looked okay and the histogram checked out. I'll have to work on it. Thanks for all the insight guys. I really appreciate it.

Chase
I clicked on "Auto-color" in Photoshop and it lost much of it's "extra" yellowish orange. You should try it and see what the result is. Sometimes we don't see obvious things until we have a reference to compare. "Auto-color" is one method. Ironically, it was not until Andrew and Kevin posted their Wilmington and Western shots that I realized my own were originally to warm. Still, I think I'll leave my Grand Canyon horse shot as is....

If you are not familiar with calibrating your monitor, you might want to take a look:

http://www.google.com/#q=monitor+cal...w=1280&bih=672

Now, if I could just get mine working again... (should've bought a MAC).

/Mitch
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 09:53 PM   #28
chasejsmith
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AMTK Shoreline MP 103.8
Posts: 56
Default

I'm going to have to find the money for Photoshop. I've just been using Lightroom.
__________________


Chase Smith

Railpictures.net Photos

Rail-Videos.net Videos
chasejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:00 PM   #29
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasejsmith View Post
I'm going to have to find the money for Photoshop. I've just been using Lightroom.
I can't fully comment, because my copy of Lightroom is back-ordered (one day sale at Amazon today, the 29th, BTW), but PS Elements does a lot. Full PS, I would opine!, is rarely needed, and certainly for RP-type work. So there isn't that much money to find. I plan on making regular use of PSE to supplement LR when necessary.

But I am surprised, are you saying LR doesn't have an auto-color capability? If so, too bad.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:25 PM   #30
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,704
Default

Lightroom 3 is on sale AGAIN - one day only, for $89.95 at Amazon.

Ends tonight 2-29-12. Or not?

http://www.amazon.com/Adobe-65064073...0557905&sr=8-1



/Mitch
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:29 PM   #31
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Got mine for $69 at B&H a few weeks ago, someone here mentioned it, I think.

Backordered ...

LR 4 is coming out soon.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:32 PM   #32
magicman_841
Senior Member
 
magicman_841's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,024
Default

You should be able to remove a color cast with Lightroom.
__________________
Mathieu Tremblay
Choo photos
magicman_841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 12:39 AM   #33
Mr. Pick
Senior Member
 
Mr. Pick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 662
Default

Yeah, it's really no problem correcting color issues with Lightroom. There are a host of ways to do it.
Mr. Pick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 12:57 AM   #34
chasejsmith
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AMTK Shoreline MP 103.8
Posts: 56
Default

Shows how much time I've dedicated to figuring out how to use it to its full potential.
__________________


Chase Smith

Railpictures.net Photos

Rail-Videos.net Videos
chasejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 01:59 AM   #35
KevinM
Senior Member
 
KevinM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,185
Default

Hi Chase,

I recommend getting PSE as a companion program for Lightroom. For most photos, Lightroom is all you will ever need. Lightroom is also a much better vehicle for quickly examining the take from a shoot, bookmarking the best ones, then getting them looking decent as quickly as possible....and THAT is what it was designed to do.

For specialty tweaks, J is correct. PSE is a poor-man's PS that incorporates most of the tools for detailed adjustments. It has all of the "auto" features such as: AutoColor, AutoContrast, AutoLevels and something called AutoSmartFix. When I finish messing with a photo in Lightroom, I usually try all of those tools, just to see if they improve on what I have already done. In some cases, I use their effects. In other cases, I don't. It is just nice to have all of those tools available. In any event, if you need to do any serious "clean up" (cloning, etc.), Lightroom is not the place to do it. Again, PSE has the right tools for that.
__________________
/Kevin

My RP stuff is here.

Link to my Flickr Albums. Albums from Steam Railroads all over the US.
KevinM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 02:55 AM   #36
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb

In that spot, turn more toward the bridge and wait for the train to get 30-50 feet closer.

You may need a wider angle lens.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 05:37 PM   #37
Eugene
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 243
Default

I'm coming in at the tail end of this discussion, but since this area is one of my favourite locations in the world for shooting trains, I thought I would add my 2 cents!

No offence Chase, but I'm really surprised you did'nt get bombed for bad colour, my monitor shows a definite yellow cast on the accepted shot. Also, there are so many angles to shoot from around here that I don't like the bridge cut off in the middle. It's such an impressive feature that, to get a good shot, I think one has to make a point of not cutting it off.

All IMHO of course!!

Cheers
Eugene
Eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 06:15 PM   #38
Holloran Grade
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In the California Republic
Posts: 2,774
Lightbulb

Whoops, wrong thread.
Holloran Grade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 06:29 PM   #39
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,863
Default

Just did a search for this location in the database and saw at least a dozen shots exactly like the OP's with the bridge cut off by the right side of the frame. Then I saw this:

Image © Dave Carney
PhotoID: 122303
Photograph © Dave Carney


Why don't more photographers use trees on the right for framing? Looks much more balanced, IMO.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:29 AM   #40
chasejsmith
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AMTK Shoreline MP 103.8
Posts: 56
Default

Kevin - Thanks, I'll look into it. Eugene - Cutting the trees in question down would help too! No offense taken, thanks for the opinions! Jim - It looks a lot better with leaves on the trees than it does without...
__________________


Chase Smith

Railpictures.net Photos

Rail-Videos.net Videos
chasejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 12:48 AM   #41
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasejsmith View Post
Jim - It looks a lot better with leaves on the trees than it does without...
Can't look any worse than this:

Image © Jim Thias
PhotoID: 385256
Photograph © Jim Thias


I'll be patiently waiting for a new shot with the leafless tree on the right.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias

Last edited by JimThias; 03-03-2012 at 12:51 AM.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.