Old 02-17-2008, 10:25 PM   #1
SD70M-2

Default Newbie needs advise.

Can anybody help me with this? I'm being told it is "underexposed". I'm not a professional photographer by any means but I do think that this is a realy nice picture, one of my favorites.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...5&key=44154782
SD70M-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 10:31 PM   #2
asis80

Send a message via AIM to asis80

"underexposed" is an "understatement" . I think there may be a problem with your monitor? Over here, I can hardly see anything. I think you just metered wrong. What I like to do in snowy conditions especially is meter off of the sky. When metering off of something really bright (the WHITE snow is reflection most of that light) the meter in your camera is saying "WHOA! Lets take it up a few or 10 stops". Metering off the sky, in most of my cases, 99% of the time turns that snow a nice white, keeps the image balance exposure wise, the sky is nice and blue and you have a nice picture. I believe tho if you did this with this picture to begin with, you'd get it kicked for either

A) Bad cropping; you cut off the 2nd unit, stand closer to the tracks at an angle to the WHOLE train

or

B)Bad composition/balance; roster shots have to be "picture perfect". And still, the 2nd unit is cut off.

Hope this helps!

Ben
Old 02-17-2008, 10:32 PM   #3
JRMDC

The snow is fairly gray, not so white. I think it is underexposed. Just increase the exposure in whatever software you are using. (Not that the snow should be bleached white, but it should be brighter than it is now.)

And beware, frequently enough the screener will leave one or two reasons for rejection when more are applicable. Someone does a fix and the shot is rejected again for another reason. In this case, the shot does not look especially sharp, so I would do a bit of sharpening in addition to the exposure adjustment, before resubmitting.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums: